ESA 2013 preview: my talk won’t be as boring as the abstract sounds

Or at least, if it is boring, it won’t be boring because I’m only talking about old stuff. I wrote my abstract before I really knew what I was going to talk about. The abstract makes it sound like I’ll just be talking about my old work on spatial synchrony. I’ll be talking about my old stuff a bit, but I have some new modeling results I’ll be talking about. I’m going to ask if increasing the extinction risk for local subpopulations can ever be good for the persistence of the metapopulation as a whole. Want to know the answer? You’ll have to come to my talk!🙂

3 thoughts on “ESA 2013 preview: my talk won’t be as boring as the abstract sounds

  1. Could it be a metapopulation hydra effect (sensu Abrams)?

    To save other’s the time to look it up:

    OOS 20-4
    Spatial synchrony and persistence in fragmented landscapes: Models and experiments
    Wednesday, August 7, 2013: 2:30 PM
    101A, Minneapolis Convention Center
    Jeremy W. Fox , Dept. of Biological Sciences, University of Calgary, Calgary, AB, Canada
    David A. Vasseur , Dept. of Ecology and Evolutionary Biology, Yale University, New Haven, CT

    • No, it’s not a hydra effect sensu Abrams. Although since “hydra effect” was Abrams’ umbrella term for a range of distinct mechanisms having a similar effect, I could perhaps pitch my talk as presenting a novel “spatial hydra effect”. Hmm, will have to mull that over…

      Anyway, that hydra effect paper is a fun paper, one that I perhaps should’ve included in my list of favorite Peter Abrams papers:

      “Hydra effect” is such a great coinage, it’s hard to believe it didn’t catch on.

      Thanks for including the details for my talk. But I did include my own talk in my itinerary post, for the benefit of any readers considering attending. Yes, I do put my own talk in my itinerary. Yes, that is to make 100% sure I don’t forget to attend my own talk. Yes, you may now commence mocking me…

Leave a Comment

