Here’s the poster for Jeremy’s upcoming talk on blogging

Here’s the advertising poster for my upcoming talk at Virginia Tech on blogging as a mode of scientific communication:Va Tech poster

Creative and a bit funky–I like it! I said in an old post on cool science graphics that I wanted to get famous enough so that someone would design a neat-looking poster for one of my talks. Apparently that day has arrived! Thanks to the organizers for putting in the effort to design this. 🙂

Now I just have to give a good enough talk to justify all the effort they’ve gone to…

p.s. The poster encourages folks to check out Dynamic Ecology, which is great. But as my title suggests, I’m actually going to pitch the talk more broadly than that; less than half the talk is actually about Dynamic Ecology specifically. So don’t show up expecting 45 minutes of zombie jokes. 🙂

6 thoughts on “Here’s the poster for Jeremy’s upcoming talk on blogging

    • Oh wow, that image is really slick! Did they use it on a poster, so that you could have a physical souvenir? EDIT: Ah, a closer look at the site reveals a link to the poster! #answeredmyownquestion

      One thing I’m really glad we did for our Darwin celebrations back in 2009 was give the speakers in our public lecture series copies of the posters advertising their talks (see that old post on cool science graphics for an image of one of the posters). Everybody was glad to have a sharp-looking memento.

    • ” I think you could base your entire talk – or at least the “discussion gambit” part – explaining what everything on the poster is about!”

      Good idea, but it’s too late for that–the talk’s already 90% written! And only a fraction of it is about old Dynamic Ecology posts.

      Which does worry me a little–anyone who’s coming hoping to hear me talk a lot about the “backstory” behind my posts, or do a live version of the blog where I give a bunch of posts as mini-talks, is going to be disappointed. What I’m planning is something closer to a blog-specific version of that social media talk of Titus Brown’s that you’ve referred to in the past.

      But I am going to talk about zombie ideas in ecology (and more briefly about a few other posts, including some from Meg and Brian), so hopefully there will be something for everyone.

      • It’s going to be great, I’m sure! Wish I was there to hear your talk.

        And I bet you will have other opportunities to give talks and lead discussions on blogging.

        Maybe you and the other super Dynamic Ecologists could organize a session on blogging about ecology at an ESA meeting?

      • “And I bet you will have other opportunities to give talks and lead discussions on blogging. ”

        It’s funny you say that, I just got another invitation to talk about blogging (and my research) at another university.

        “Maybe you and the other super Dynamic Ecologists could organize a session on blogging about ecology at an ESA meeting?”

        I think other folks are already on top of this. There was a workshop at the last ESA on social media for ecologists, but we weren’t involved at all. And Jarrett Byrnes gave a talk on social media at the ESA that packed the room; he was kind enough to give us a shout out as part of that. There’s an “Ignite” session on this stuff coming up at this year’s meeting, in which I was invited to speak, but it’s on Friday morning and I can’t stay.

Leave a Comment

