Great moments in blogging, old wine in new bottles edition

One thing I like about blogging as a form is that it’s natural to revisit topics you’ve discussed before. A blog is a record of your evolving thoughts.

Or sometimes, your “living fossil” thoughts that haven’t evolved at all. Earlier this week, I posted on questions you should ask yourself if you’re thinking of starting a blog. It was a really easy post to write, I banged it out quickly. Presumably because, as I just discovered, I’ve written it before.

They say the memory is the first…wait, what was I talking about?🙂

That recent post was pretty popular despite being a total rerun. Which illustrates how any old post that doesn’t come up high in common Google searches gets flushed down the internet’s collective memory hole. I’m now tempted to take a break from writing new posts, and just repost old ones, but without telling anyone I’m doing it. Then I’ll wait and see if anyone notices. I’m betting nobody will–since after all I just did it and even I didn’t notice!🙂

7 thoughts on “Great moments in blogging, old wine in new bottles edition

  1. After a few years of blogging I started routinely searching my archives to check if I have already written something before writing it again. More than once I was surprised to see an old post I completely forgot about. I’d then just link to it or republish it with the “From the Archives” icon.

    • In the past I’ve occasionally reposted old stuff, and labeled it as such in the title (“Hoisted from the archives: [title of old post]”). Those reposts got very few views compared to new posts. Hence my idea to repost old stuff and either not label it as such at all, or only label it as such at the end of the post. So that people who would otherwise want to read it don’t avoid it just because they know it’s old.

      Obviously, you’d only want to do this with “timeless” posts. Not posts that are now out of date or irrelevant.

  2. It would be nice if you reposted the entry, from over a year ago, doing a Google Earth search for what turned out to be five extremely important centers for ecological research. It’s a great puzzle for students at the end of a course on general ecology.

Leave a Comment

