Zombie ideas in ecology: my TREE paper is a hit (UPDATED)

Shameless plug: Trends in Ecology and Evolution just published a list of their top 10 most downloaded papers over the past two years, scaled by time since publication. It’s here (scroll to the bottom-right corner of the page). I’ll admit I’m pleased to see my piece arguing for the abandonment of the intermediate disturbance hypothesis on the list. Though the fact that it was published recently probably helps, and it might drop off the list as the download rate slows over time.

UPDATE: And just now I noticed that the paper is associated with various sorts of altmetrics. All the tweets about the paper, how many times the paper was shared on Facebook and Google+, etc. I actually didn’t see any tweets about the paper when it came out (unless they were directed to @DynamicEcology), so it was interesting to see them aggregated. Apparently the paper sparked quite a bit of social media activity for a TREE paper (though not nearly as much as our most popular posts spark…)

/end shameless own-horn tooting

4 thoughts on “Zombie ideas in ecology: my TREE paper is a hit (UPDATED)

    • Yes, I know, the authors and I had an amicable correspondence in advance of their letter. My reply should be published by TREE any day now. I’m talking to the authors about the possibility of a guest post on Dynamic Ecology continuing the conversation the letters began.

  1. I think this definitely shows the importance of provocative but well-argued papers in stimulating thinking about science – thanks again, Jeremy, for writing this for TREE. And I’m very pleased to get the time-corrected Top Ten (possibly about to become the Top Twenty) papers highlighted – not just to showcase the journal but because I genuinely feel this highlights papers anyone across ecology and evolution might want to read in order to quickly and easily stay up to date with the most important, cutting edge ideas. That’s me speaking as someone mad keen on science, not just as an editor!

    Paul Craze (TREE editor in chief)

  2. Pingback: Jeremy’s blogging FAQs | Dynamic Ecology

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.