US National Academy of Sciences elects several ecologists and evolutionary biologists as new members (UPDATEDx2)

The US National Academy of Sciences just elected new members and foreign associates, including several ecologists and evolutionary biologists. This is a very big honor. So major congratulations to new members Greg Asner, Marcus Feldman, Robin Fox (an anthropologist whose work is very evolutionarily-informed, so I’m counting him), Sarah Hobbie, Nancy Knowlton, Sally Otto, and Joan Strassmann, and to foreign associates Brian Charlesworth, William Bond, and Graham Farquhar (who works at the interface of ecology and other fields like physiology, so I’m counting him).

Of note: Four of the seven new ecological & evolutionary members are women. And one is a blogger! 😉

UPDATE: In the original post I forgot Greg Asner. Thanks to a commenter for catching my mistake.

UPDATE #2: Another commenter notes the Ian Baldwin could be included as well, as his research concerns the chemical and molecular mechanisms underpinning plant defenses against herbivory.

12 thoughts on “US National Academy of Sciences elects several ecologists and evolutionary biologists as new members (UPDATEDx2)

    • p.s. Just to be clear, I don’t know Sally Otto well, having only spoken to her a couple of times. I didn’t refer to her as Sally because I’m a close friend. Rather, everyone I know calls her Sally. And she indicates “Sally” as her nickname very prominently on her own homepage, which I linked to in the post, which I presume she would not do unless she wished to be referred to as Sally. For these reasons, I believe referring to her as Sally rather than Sarah is appropriate.

      • Oops, apologies — I just know of her work as being published under “Sarah”.

      • No worries. It’s so automatic for me to refer to Sally Otto as “Sally” that I forget that many readers aren’t aware of her preference, and that to those readers it looks strange for me to refer to her as “Sally”.

Leave a Comment

