I’m seeking postdoctoral fellowship applicants

I am seeking applicants for the University of Calgary Killam Postdoctoral Fellowship. This is a competitive two-year award, funded by the Killam Foundation. The purpose is to allow the Fellow to develop his or her own research program, under the guidance of a faculty sponsor. The Fellow also is expected to contribute to the intellectual life of the university by giving a research seminar and possibly doing a bit of guest lecturing.

An ideal applicant for my lab would be someone with some mathematical and/or programming skills, whose interests overlap somewhat with mine: question-driven work in population, community, and eco-evolutionary dynamics. My lab also would be a good fit for someone looking to learn, or continue with, lab-based model systems like protist microcosms or bean beetles. But I’m absolutely open to applications from anyone who broadly shares my interests. My hope would be that you would pursue your own research as well as collaborating with me on some project of mutual interest (which need not be a project currently ongoing in my lab). That’s how my former postdoc Dave Vasseur and I worked, and it was great for both of us.  For more on current research in my lab, see my homepage.

More broadly, there are a number of really good ecologists and evolutionary biologists at Calgary. It’s a good intellectual environment. Calgary is a city of just over 1 million people, close to the Canadian Rockies with all the opportunity for recreation that that implies.

The Killam postdoc is a prestigious university-wide award, open to scholars in all disciplines, and only one is given out each year, so competition is keen. In the past, I’ve had one candidate receive (and decline) the award, and another make it to the final stage of the multi-stage evaluation process. So I have a good sense of what’s required to be competitive. The application process is not that onerous, so if you’re even slightly interested I encourage you to contact me (jefox@ucalgary.ca).

Under the rules, I can only support one candidate for the award. Please contact me by early Jan. to ensure full consideration. When you contact me, please tell me something about your research interests and what sort of work you’d see yourself pursuing. Please include a cv and contact details for three references.

Key details are below, click the above link for full details.

Eligibility

You need to have earned your Ph.D. after Sept. 1, 2011, or earn it before Sept. 1, 2014. You do NOT need to be Canadian or a resident of Canada, and there is no preference for Canadians or Canadian residents when applications are evaluated.

Term, salary, benefits

It’s a two year award, which pays $45,000 CAD/year. There’s also $6000 for research and/or moving expenses. Also Alberta Health Care and extended health benefits.

Start date

Between May 1 and Sept. 1, 2014.

Application deadline

Jan. 15, 2014. The winner will be announced by May 1, 2014.

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.